Skip to main content

Opening: Wir arbeiten dran

Opening: Wir arbeiten dran

Experimental arrangements in the political-feminist field of tension 

FIFTITU% - Networking Center for Women* in Art and Culture and Medienwerkstatt Wien in cooperation with the University of Art and Design Linz present We are working on it: Experimental arrangements in the political-feminist field of tension 

Participating artists and collectives
Fatima El Kosht / Gerda Lampalzer / Martyna Lorenc / Aline Matuschek / Hanna Schimek / Adriana Torres Topaga / fem*-Kollektiv-Voice / das kollektiv / maiz / VIMÖ / YOUnited / students of the University of Art and Design Linz in cooperation with Rebekka Hochreiter and Oona Valarie Serbest

Opening:
Wednesday, 6. March 2024, 19:00
Opening talk with the artists: Nora Landkammer

Where:
splace am Hauptplatz
Hauptplatz 6, 4020 Linz

Exhibition duration & opening hours:
6. March - March 22, 2024
MI / DO / FR 13.00 to 17.00 h

The dialogical spatial installation WIR ARBEITEN DRAN explores the interweaving of art, actionism, research, knowledge exchange and institutional critique.

The starting point is a playful yet serious artistic dialog between Gerda Lampalzer and Hanna Schimek from 1990/91, in which the artists' specific expertise was shared. In the form of "exercises", mini projects were proposed to each other by letter, which were in the sender's field of expertise. In this way, Gerda Lampalzer and Hanna Schimek were encouraged to make "dilettantish" attempts, which were then assessed professionally in further correspondence. Parallel to the artistic practice between image and text production, an extensive humorous correspondence developed, which makes the atmosphere between artistic friendship and serious debate even more vivid.

What was still a personal exchange between two female artists in 1990/91, which was not placed in a theoretical context, can be seen in an updated context in 2024 "revisited". Under the title KEINE NATURSTUDIE, KEIN ERLEBNISAUFSATZ, PHILOSOPHISCH, MÖGLICHST GROSS (Produktion: Medienwerkstatt Wien), the retrospective project presentation is the impetus for the collaboration with FIFITU% to connect to ideas of anti-hierarchical knowledge concepts, shared artistic research, non-institutional knowledge production, visualization of tacit knowledge, horizontal knowledge transfer as a potential, model and catalyst for a sustainable change in society. Emancipatory community building is more necessary than ever.

The artist* Adriana Torres Topaga creates multiple and participatory experimental arrangements that illuminate feminist practices in the context of SUMAK KAWSAYthe right to a good life. Her work, which critically examines the global impact of consumption and the appropriation of natural resources by multinational corporations in Colombia, forms the basis for the integration of transformative and generative processes. These approaches transform the entire project into a political act and a working space for feminist and collective practice.

The fem* collective Voice, initiated by Fatima El Kosht and Martyna Lorenc, will develop an open laboratory for interdisciplinary collaboration and the exchange of communication through movement and repetition. Through the practice of body percussion, current feminist struggles will be contextualized and a common language will be developed in transformative processes to create new forms of communication and understanding.

maiz and das kollektiv, two migrant organizations in Linz, present inventories and demands regarding the design of public space in the city centre of Linz. Students from various courses in both organizations call on urban planning to fulfil one of its important social functions: to realize the right to the city for disadvantaged groups. By poetically taking possession of the steps in front of the splace on Hauptplatz, they are expanding - in collaboration with VIMÖ - Verein Intergeschlechtlicher Menschen Österreich and YOUnited, a queer youth group in Upper Austria - brought the exhibition into public space. Inspired by the motto "Last year I died, but this year I won't die!", they unite their voices with the many other queer feminist voices in resistance and in the fight for a good life for all living people.

And finally, in cooperation with Rebekka Hochreiter and Oona Valarie Serbest, students from the University of Art and Design Linz will use the intergenerational format to promote self-determined articulation and change through their own interventions for a political-feminist practice. Among other things, a rest/break room will be set up and equipped with vulva cushions by Aline Matuschek. By activists for activists! 

Production: FIFTITU% -Vernetzungsstelle für Frauen* in Kunst und Kultur and Medienwerkstatt Wien in cooperation with the University of Art and Design Linz

FIFTITU%
FIFTITU% has been consistently campaigning for better conditions in the arts and culture for women* in the arts and culturefor over 25 years and cultural sector for Fwomen, Lesben, Inter, N non-binary, Trans and Agender people. As a feminist forum and innovative association, FIFTITU%closes the gap between regional culture, contemporary art and digital projects. The inclusion of current site-specific cultural work and process-oriented collaborations play a key role in this. With a comprehensive range of advice, professionalization and cultural policy initiatives, FIFTITU% contributes significantly to the promotion of fairness and diversity in Austria. The recognition of this work is reflected in the awarding of the Grand Provincial Culture Prize for proactive cultural work by the Province of Upper Austria in 2023 and 2002 and the State Prize "outstanding artist award" in 2018.

Medienwerkstatt Wien
The Medienwerkstatt Wien was founded in 1978 as a non-commercial video studio. With the implementation of several participatory media projects, it became the most important Austrian center for independent media production in the early 1980s. This makes it one of the longest functioning models, which - run as a collective of artists - has reflected, communicated and helped shape the ongoing development of media art in both technological and theoretical terms.

Financially supported by the exhibition and event funding of the University of Art and Design Linz

Collage © Adriana Torres Topaga

Organization:
splace am Hauptplatz
Address:

Hauptplatz 6

Url zur Location Hauptwebseite

Locality:

Linz 4020

Austria

Veranstaltungstyp:
Veranstaltungsart
Offline Event

Direkt zum Inhalt

Opening: Wir arbeiten dran

Opening: Wir arbeiten dran

Versuchsanordnungen im politisch-feministischen Spannungsfeld  

FIFTITU% -Vernetzungsstelle für Frauen* in Kunst und Kultur und Medienwerkstatt Wien in Kooperation mit der Kunstuniversität Linz präsentieren Wir arbeiten dran: Versuchsanordnungen im politisch-feministischen Spannungsfeld  

Teilnehmende Künstler*innen und Kollektive
Fatima El Kosht / Gerda Lampalzer / Martyna Lorenc  / Aline Matuschek / Hanna Schimek / Adriana Torres Topaga / fem*-Kollektiv-Voice / das kollektiv / maiz / VIMÖ / YOUnited / Rebekka Hochreiter / Silke Müller / Annika Denzel / Lera Entmayr / Lena Haslinger / Justine Maier-Ortega / Bernadette Salzmann / Luzia Stempfer

Opening:
Mittwoch, 6. März 2024, 19:00 Uhr
Eröffnungsgespräch mit den Künstler*innen: Nora Landkammer 

Wo:
splace am Hauptplatz
Hauptplatz 6, 4020 Linz

Ausstellungsdauer & Öffnungszeiten:
6. März - 22. März 2024
MI / DO / FR 13.00 bis 17.00 Uhr

Die dialogische Rauminstallation WIR ARBEITEN DRAN erforscht die Verflechtungen von Kunst, Aktionismus, Forschung, Wissensaustausch und Institutionskritik.

Den Ausgangspunkt bildet ein spielerischer und zugleich ernsthafter künstlerischer Dialog zwischen Gerda Lampalzer und Hanna Schimek aus den Jahren 1990/91, in dem die spezifischen Expertisen der Künstler*innen untereinander geteilt wurden. In Form von „Übungsaufgaben“ wurden einander brieflich Miniprojekte vorgeschlagen, die sich im Fachgebiet der Absenderin bewegten. Somit wurden Gerda Lampalzer und Hanna Schimek zu "dilettantischen" Versuchen angeregt, die dann in weiterer Korrespondenz fachlich beurteilt wurden. Parallel zu der künstlerischen Praxis zwischen Bild- und Textproduktion entspann sich ein ausführlicher humoresker Briefwechsel, der die Stimmung zwischen Künstlerinnenfreundschaft und ernsthafter Auseinandersetzung noch plastischer macht.

Was 1990/91 noch ein persönlicher Austausch unter zwei Künstlerinnen war, der nicht in einen Theoriezusammenhang gesetzt wurde, ist 2024 „revisited“ in einem aktualisierten Kontext zu sehen. Unter dem Titel KEINE NATURSTUDIE, KEIN ERLEBNISAUFSATZ, PHILOSOPHISCH, MÖGLICHST GROSS (Produktion: Medienwerkstatt Wien) ist die retrospektive Projektpräsentation Anstoß zur Zusammenarbeit mit FIFITU%, um an Ideen von anti-hierarchischen Wissenskonzepten, geteilte künstlerischer Recherche, nicht institutionelle Wissensproduktion, Sichtbarmachung von implizitem Wissen, horizontale Wissensvermittlung als Potential, Modell und Katalysator für eine nachhaltige Veränderung der Gesellschaft anzuschließen. Emanzipatorisches community building ist notwendiger denn je.

Die Künstlerin* Adriana Torres Topaga erstellt multiple und partizipative Versuchsanordnungen, die feministische Praktiken im Kontext von SUMAK KAWSAY – dem Recht auf ein gutes Leben – beleuchten. Ihre Arbeit, die sich kritisch mit den globalen Auswirkungen des Konsums und der Aneignung natürlicher Ressourcen durch multinationale Konzerne in Kolumbien auseinandersetzt, bildet die Grundlage für die Einbindung transformativer und generativer Prozesse. Diese Ansätze verwandeln das gesamte Projekt in einen politischen Akt und einen Arbeitsraum für feministische und kollektive Praxis.

Das fem*-Kollektiv-Voice, initiiert von Fatima El Kosht und Martyna Lorenc, wird ein offenes Labor für interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit und den Austausch von Kommunikation durch Bewegung und Wiederholung entwickeln. Durch die Praxis der Body Percussion werden aktuelle feministische Kämpfe kontextualisiert und in transformativen Prozessen eine gemeinsame Sprache entwickelt, um neue Formen der Kommunikation und des Verständnisses zu schaffen.   

maiz und das kollektiv, zwei Migrant*innen Organisationen in Linz, präsentieren Bestandsaufnahmen und Forderungen hinsichtlich der Gestaltung des öffentlichen Raums in der Linzer Innenstadt. Lernende aus verschiedenen Kursen in beiden Organisationen fordern die Stadtplanung auf, eine ihrer wichtigen sozialen Funktionen zu erfüllen: das Recht auf Stadt für benachteiligte Gruppen zu verwirklichen. Durch das poetische In-Besitz-nehmen der Stufen vor dem splace am Hauptplatz erweitern - sie in Zusammenarbeit mit VIMÖ – Verein Intergeschlechtlicher Menschen Österreich und YOUnited, einer queeren Jugendgruppe in Oberösterreich - die Ausstellung in den öffentlichen Raum. Inspiriert vom Motto "Letztes Jahr bin ich gestorben, aber dieses Jahr sterbe ich nicht!" vereinen sie ihre Stimmen mit den vielen anderen queer feministischen Stimmen im Widerstand und im Kampf für ein gutes Leben für alle Lebenden. 

Und schließlich werden Studierende der Kunstuniversität Linz in Kooperation mit Rebekka Hochreiter und Oona Valarie Serbest das generationenübergreifende Format durch eigene Eingriffe für eine politische-feministische Praxis nutzen, um selbstbestimmte Artikulation und Veränderung zu fördern. Unter anderem wird ein Ruhe-/Pausenraum eingerichtet und mit Vulvapolstern von Aline Matuschek ausgestattet. Von Aktivist*innen für Aktivist*innen! 

Produktion: FIFTITU% -Vernetzungsstelle für Frauen* in Kunst und Kultur und Medienwerkstatt Wien in Kooperation mit der Kunstuniversität Linz   

FIFTITU%
FIFTITU% setzt sich seit über 25 Jahren konsequent für bessere Bedingungen im Kunst- und Kulturbereich für Frauen, Lesben, Inter, Nicht-binäre, Trans und Agender Personen ein. Als feministisches Forum und innovativer Verein schließt FIFTITU% die Lücke zwischen Regionalkultur, Gegenwartskunst und digitalen Vorhaben. Die Einbeziehung aktueller ortsspezifischer Kulturarbeit und prozessorientierte Kooperationen spielen dabei eine wesentliche Rolle. Mit einem umfassenden Angebot an Beratung, Professionalisierung und kulturpolitischen Initiativen trägt FIFTITU% maßgeblich zur Förderung von Fairness und Diversität in Österreich bei. Die Anerkennung dieser Arbeit spiegelt sich in der Verleihung des Großen Landeskulturpreises für initiative Kulturarbeit des Landes OÖ im Jahr 2023 und 2002 und des Staatspreises "outstanding artist award" im Jahr 2018 wider.

Medienwerkstatt Wien
Die Medienwerkstatt Wien wurde 1978 als nicht-kommerzielles Videostudio gegründet. Mit der Durchführung mehrerer partizipativer Medienprojekte wurde sie Anfang der 80er Jahre zum wichtigsten österreichischen Zentrum für unabhängige Medienproduktion. Sie ist damit eines der langjährigsten funktionierenden Modelle, das - als Künstler*innenkollektiv geführt – die permanente Weiterentwicklung der Medienkunst im technologischen wie im theoretischen Bereich reflektiert, vermittelt und mitbestimmt hat.

Finanziell unterstützt von der Ausstellungs- und Veranstaltungsförderung der Kunstuniversität Linz 

Collage © Adriana Torres Topaga

Organisation:
splace am Hauptplatz
Adresse:

Hauptplatz 6

Url zur Location Hauptwebseite

Ort:

Linz 4020

Österreich

Veranstaltungstyp:
Veranstaltungsart
Offline Event